top of page
Search

Hurry up, Spring!


I am almost desperately waiting for spring. I mean the actual spring, not the one on the calendar. I'm dreaming of gardens and goat-kids and going for walks in our forest. Maybe starting to visit the lakes out here and maybe <gasp> see people!


I'm very grateful for the snow we've got (slow release moisture!) as it's good for the land. For sure the feeling of wanting winter to end so I can get on with life comes up this time every year. Just like in fall, I'm going to look forward to using up the pile of logs and curling up with a book and a mug of hot tea or hot chocolate. Frankly, right now I'm looking forward to the book while I'm stretched out on a lounger with a glass of wine! I enjoy the seasons, truly, but right now I want spring!


We've got so many plans for the farm this year. It feels amazing that after nearly 6 years out here, we can say our infrastructure is done. Now we're at the fine-tuning and the primping so things will look nice. Last year I started painting the outbuildings and Troy made our rabbits a beautiful little yard for them to run around in safely. I made a delightful little garden out of part of a fallen tree; I planted petunias right in the rotting log and planted Troy's grandfather's day lilies on the other side of it. Ah the dreaming of what's next is a big part of the fun, isn't it?


The kids are coming soon! Should be here towards the end of March. My Halo is going to be a first time mama, too. I'm nervous for her cuz while I was a good Mom to her, I wasn't a goat-Mom. Here's hoping we give her the support she needs to be a great mama herself! We've got a few strategies in place for that.


Troy has been working in the barn all fall and winter to make the kidding season as successful as it can be. By successful, I mean all the kids will live, the does will be thrilled to be mamas and feed their own kids, and we won't lose too much sleep at night. He set up individual stalls for the new family groups. Each has its own hay feeder, pellets/grain feeder and water dish. It's designed so that if the mama wants to eat, she'll have to stand and that will give her kids the opportunity to nurse. That's not normally a problem but last year we had 8 bottle babies from our own herd and added 2 more from another because the mamas apparently didn't feel like feeding their kids. To be fair, it was -30c-something and no one wanted to do anything.


We will also be able to use our barn camera system. It came too late to install last year in time for kidding. It makes a big difference to us to be able to "tune in" to our girls whenever we want. It even has sound on one of the views so we'll hear when the does go into labour. Last year we were going out every few hours (did I mention it was -30c??) to check. I had the early shifts and Troy the late - it's good to play to each other's strengths!


One of our other big projects for this year is that we'll be moving the garden to a better location. That was a live and learn scenario. Note to all: don't put a garden in between goat pens and in an area that gets a lot of shade! Troy is going to build green houses and raised garden beds in what we now know is the best spot for growing. It's also closer to our home and the other animals (chickens and rabbits) who will help us by eating the stems, etc. It's going to be a lot more efficient and we plan to set it up so it's easier for us as we continue aging.


After all this time, Troy and I are settling into our property and it's fitting better and better. Let me know what you've got planned for your spring season!



If you are thinking of living a country life but aren't sure where to begin, order my workbook to help you figure out what you need to think about before you move.


3 views0 comments
bottom of page