top of page
Search

Love is in the Air - an Ode to my Partners

It's Valentine's Day. I'll admit I've it's never been a big deal to me. For the longest time I didn't have anyone to share it with in the traditional sense and frankly, it didn't bother me. Now I've got a partner who I deeply appreciate and who I'm enjoying sharing this adventure we call life with.


Valentine's Day or not, it's wonderful to have a partner, but what does that mean and, if you don't have a lover, does that mean you don't have a partner or even partners?


Troy is my life partner and my farm partner. I can't imagine anyone I'd rather share my life with, quite honestly. I would not be living the life I am out here on our little farm without him. He does so much of the work to keep it going. Certainly I play my part and we each play to our strengths, but it's his efforts that make this a farm and not just a home in the country. I appreciate that because I love our farm.


My family and my friends are also partners in my life. We support each other, I travel with one or two of them (when it's possible, of course!) and when one of us needs something, we stand together.


Then there's the community we have joined. I'd like to say we planned that as part of our move but truly, we just lucked out. It didn't occur to me to check out the local population when we moved from the city to this rural location. Our neighbours around us and those in the nearest Village are partners, too. We all work together on projects that are important to us. After we moved, I joined the local library and local museum groups. Those are specific community partners, but every time there is an event, it's very clear to see that there is partnership amongst all of us. We all work together to raise up our community.


Last but not least are my dogs. Ha, you might be saying? Just think about it - seriously! Even if, IF, it was just about mental health, that'd be enough. We have 3 dogs and each of them has a role to play in my life. One protects our property and livestock, one adores Troy and is always with him so I know a predator isn't going to sneak up on him, and one loves to help me with my farm chores. It started off as "helping" with an eye roll, but I rely on Gypsy now. He has even figured out how to help me bring in the chickens instead of scattering them all over the place. I don't go in the billy-goat pen without him, for example, nor do I take food in to our does without him. I get mobbed when I go in either pen with food.


I feel blessed with all the partnerships in my life. There are more but these are the ones that impact every day of my life.


Happy Valentine's Day!


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page